The Cake Eater’s Guide to Free From Cakes

As we’re posting this it’s allergy awareness week. And yes, it might be because it’s spring and people’s hay fever are making them glossy-eyed and red-nosed, but we also think it’s the perfect time to talk about food allergies. Because people who can’t have gluten, dairy, eggs, nuts and so on still like cake! Who doesn’t? 

We know people with food allergies and intolerances can get a bit nervous when ordering celebration desserts. Some people assume that bakeries and patisseries won’t offer cakes that they can eat at all, so they don’t bother. Here's what we have to say to that: You can have your cake and eat it! Yep, we said it. Because everyone deserves delicious cake. 

So, if you or someone you’re buying one for dietary requirements, here’s some of the luscious options you can choose from. Remember that you can always drop us a line if you have any questions or worries. And always let us know if you have a food allergy or intolerance, even if you think it's not relevant (yes, we need to know about your fish allergies too!)

Vegan Cakes

Vegan patisserie and cakes have become very popular, and it’s a great choice for both vegans and for people with egg allergy, milk allergy or lactose intolerance. Here we have a dedicated vegan section in our shop, but most of our products can also be made vegan on request.

We're always looking for great baking ingredients. To make the silkiest vegan buttercream, we use the amazing new vegan Flora block, and Flora vegan cream for the shiniest vegan chocolate ganache. It's so good, you can't even tell it's vegan!

We love to pair our cakes with our homemade fruit compotes as well as spices and biscoff spread. Our vegan ‘’eggs’’ are mainly made of  Methyl cellulose (we love our science) and water. Methyl cellulose absorbs a lot of water and creates a gel similar to what egg whites look like. This way we structure our sponges and give them better texture. 

Are you bringing cakes for tiny tots at your child's nursery or school? Vegan is a great option, more of the kids will be able to eat it. 

We weren't kidding about that chocolate ganache. 

Free From Cakes

Food free from gluten and dairy has become a common sight in supermarkets, to the delight of people suffering from coeliac disease and milk allergies and intolerances. Whilst vegan items are a great option if you can’t have milk products, vegan produce is not automatically gluten free. Vegan products also eliminate both eggs and dairy products, which might not be necessary for your dietary requirements. 

So, if you want a gluten free cake, or you would like to have eggs in your cupcake, but no milk-products, just let us know. Easy!



Nut so Fishy

We stand by that pun, no apologies made. Now, we’ve all heard of nut allergies, but there’s a heap of stuff we can be allergic to, from specific fruits to food dyes and preservatives (fish gelatine anyone?), and most of the time it’s as simple as letting us know what yours is.

Having said that, it’s important to note that our cakes are made in an environment where nuts, peanuts, eggs, milk, soya, sesame and gluten are used. We take immense care not to cross contaminate our products, but as food particles can be very small, we can’t guarantee that there will be no trace of these products. This is another reason why it’s always a good idea to get in touch with us if you have any allergies. 

You can use our website chat, email us at, or give us a call on 07732 425072.

Hopefully, this article has inspired you to get a cake that you can eat with satisfaction whilst feeling good and safe. As we said earlier, everyone deserves cake, and we will do anything we can to make one that’s just right for you.

Pop over to our cakes and bakes or get in touch

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.